11 Aug 2017

RHCE Certification – How to become a Red Hat Certified Engineer

What is RHCE?

RHCE Certification

A Red Hat Certified Engineer, RHCE certification is the “flagship certification” from Red Hat. It is a mid to advance level certification and can be secured by a Red Hat Certified System Administrator (RHCSA) who has the added awareness, knowledge, skills and capabilities required from a senior system administrator in-charge of Red Hat Enterprise Linux® (RHEL) systems. RHCSA certification is the entry level qualification for a system administrator. You can go for an RHCE once you have trained for RHSCA and earned your certification.
Red Hat enterprise offers various levels of certification programs. RHCSA Certification is one of the most distinguished certification from the Red Hat enterprise. Red Hat offers its certification exams only after the completion of a training program. The training is meant for all IT experts across a wide range of domains who are performing crucial Linux administration jobs including installation, creating network connectivity, handling physical storage, and essential security management.

How to get the Red Hat Certified Engineer Certification?

If you have decided to become an RHCE, you should search the Red Hat Website for a certified training collaborator nearby in your city. Then you can contact the respective authorities and enrol yourself for RHCSA. For clearing the Red Hat Certified Engineer exam, you have to acquire knowledge of all the topics of the training program as well as other aspects, like the arrangement of network solutions. The training collaborator will provide you with the training materials and courseware of the related topics. You can choose to appear for a Red Hat certification exam according to your preferred schedule. The test sessions are conducted on a secure system in a properly administered testing centre. You can also look at the various Red Hat training alternatives and conveniently plan your exam sessions.

What is RHCSA?

RHCSA is an entry-level course exam that lays groundwork for candidates aspiring to become expert Linux system administrators by introducing crucial command line theories and additional project-level tools. These theories are then further extended in Red Hat System Administration II. To achieve the RHSCA certification, candidates have to pass EX200, a 2.5-hour lab exam. The minimum passing score for the exam is 70%.
Summary of the RHCSA exam course:
  1. Command line theories overview
  2. Directing physical storage
  3. Learn installation & configuration of software services and components
  4. Set up firewall access & network connections
  5. Administrating & monitoring processes
  6. Securing & controlling files
  7. Managing users and groups
  8. To Access Linux file structures
  9. Establishing & implementing virtualized systems
  10. Reassessing the System log files

Why should you get the Red Hat Certified Engineer Certification?

RHCSA is the “entry-level” certification essential for becoming a Red Hat Certified Engineer. RHCE Certification course is for engineers, system administrators, application administrators, virtualization and cloud administrators and enterprise developers, who have expertise in implementing RHEL in their IT infrastructure. The course provides essential skills and ensures that candidates become adept in RHEL by insisting on performance based certification exams. Clearing a Red Hat Certification exam provides opportunity for a professional to reach out to the Red Hat community, form study-groups; work together on projects and approach potential employers.
Whereas some certification exams ask multiple-choice or fill-in-the-blank type questions regarding certain technologies, clearing any Red Hat exam requires you to accomplish real-world assignments by applying Red Hat expertise. Even though there is no prescribed prerequisite for this course, any prior experience in operating system management shall be extremely useful.